Sports News

Wimbledon 2021: Joe Salisbury & Harriet Dart into mixed doubles semi-finals

Joe Salisbury and Harriet Dart
Joe Salisbury and Harriet Dart were unseeded for the Wimbledon mixed doubles
Venue: All England Club Dates: 28 June-11 July
Coverage: Live across BBC TV, radio and online with extensive coverage on BBC iPlayer, Red Button, Connected TVs and mobile app. Full details here

Britons Joe Salisbury and Harriet Dart are through to the semi-finals of the mixed doubles at Wimbledon.

The British duo beat compatriot Naomi Broady and her French partner Jeremy Chardy 4-6 6-4 7-5 in match lasting exactly two hours on Court One.

They now face Kevin Krawietz of Germany and Czech Kveta Peschke on Friday.

Salisbury’s victory came after the earlier disappointment of defeat in the semi-final of the men’s doubles alongside American partner Rajeev Ram.

Salisbury and Ram lost to Croatian top seeds Nikola Mektic and Mate Pavic 7-6 (8-6), 6-3 6-7 (2-7) 7-6 (7-5) in three hours and 19 minutes.

Salisbury was bidding to become the first Briton to reach the men’s doubles final since Jamie Murray in 2015.

Briton Neal Skupski and American Desirae Krawczyk are also through to the semi-finals of the mixed doubles.

Skupski and Krawczyk beat Dutchman Jean-Julien Rojer and Slovenian Andreja Klepac 7-6 (8-6) 6-2 and have yet to drop a set in the tournament.

Krawczyk is bidding for a second consecutive Grand Slam title with a British player having won the French Open alongside Salisbury.

The seventh seeds will play Australian John Peers and Shuai Zhang of China in the last four on Friday.

Murray was the last British man to win the mixed doubles, alongside Martina Hingis in 2017, while Heather Watson was the last woman when she won it the year before with Finn Henri Kontinen.

The last time an all-British duo won the mixed doubles at Wimbledon was in 1987 with Jo Durie and Jeremy Bates.

Around the BBC - SoundsAround the BBC footer - Sounds

Article courtesy of BBC Sport
Source link

Related posts

ATP Finals: Novak Djokovic thumps Diego Schwartzman in opener – best shots


Pro14: Connacht stun champions Leinster in derby


Babar named ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year, Stokes wins Test award


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy